The prize is established to recognize and honour the outstanding career and contributions of Professor Jean Paelinck, an internationally recognized spatial econometrician of outstanding merit, who is viewed as one of the fathers of the field of spatial econometrics.


The Jean Paelinck Prize for Young Researchers aims to recognize the research of junior scientists in Spatial Econometrics through paper presentation and in-depth discussion, organized at the World Congress of the Spatial Econometrics Association. Upon acceptance, competing papers will be presented in the Jean Paelinck Sessions, where the young researchers will be given extra time for presentation and receiving feedback. Every paper will be assigned to a discussant, and the sessions will be chaired by senior scientists.


All submissions have to be written and presented in English.

Applicants should have received their Ph.D. less than five years ago (by December 31, 2019). In the case of multiple authors this rule applies to all of the authors.

The paper should be submitted through the World Congress page. Applications should follow the submission guidelines of the 14th World Congress of the Spatial Econometrics Association, but submitting a full paper version rather than a long abstract. Cover page should include the paper’s title and abstract, full name and e-mail address of all authors, and the affiliation to academic institutions.

The authors have to clearly indicate that the submission is for the Jean Paelinck Prize consideration.

Moreover, the applicants should submit proof of the Ph.D. defense year of the Ph.D. certificate via e-mail (

A paper selected for the prize must demonstrate innovation excellence in research in Spatial Econometrics. The prize winner will be announced during the Conference dinner.

The jury comprising the President of the Spatial Econometrics Association and two senior scholars will appraise and rank the papers.

Papers that are not accepted for the Jean Paelinck Sessions (when not satisfying all criteria above) will be assigned to ordinary sessions.


The winner will receive 300 Euros. All accepted papers will have a reduced registration fee in the Congress.